Mmm yep a very merry Christmas indeed 12/19/16

Hmm yep never been happier! I don’t know what to do with myself,

couldn’t sleep last night.

Right before we headed home last night we checked the phone only to

find a text from Ray that read, “You need to be at my baptism on the

24th you promised you would come when I’m baptized!”

I start freaking out. I knew Ray had just been interviewed by

President Dixon earlier but the elders in the Ward said they didn’t

think Ray would be able to be baptized so soon.

Then we notice two missed calls from the elders. We call them back and

they go, “Sisters! Ray is getting baptized!!!”

I don’t think I have ever been happier. Just couldn’t handle myself

and the elders were just laughing as Sister Brown and I were screaming

over the phone.

Ray. Is. Getting. Baptized. This. Week. With. Addy. And. Sarah.

Okay for those of you who may need a little recap on Ray:

We met Ray at the park a few weeks after I first got to Fontana. He

said he immediately felt the need to listen to us as we spoke but with

other people he normally would have just walked away. He started

reading from the Book of Mormon and praying about it and finished it

in about a week.

He recognized the prophet, Thomas S. Monson because he had

accidentally walked into a church showing General Conference 6 months

ago. He said he had been waiting to hear back from that man and knows

he is God’s prophet.

After continuing to read and pray, Ray felt a peace in his life he

never had before and he changed old habits before we even met with him

again. We kept teaching him and he wanted to be baptized but he needed

first presidency approval. We eventually gave him to the elders in the

Ward to keep teaching him and he has continued to come weekly.

Now he is making that step towards Christ by being baptized and

confirmed this Christmas Eve and Day! Along with Addy and Sarah! MY

HEART.

So much has happened this week but I want to take the time to tell a

little about Addy and Sarah and their stories. I just love them so

much.

So Addy. Addy called the mission office towards the end of October

because her 5 year old daughter Mia had been asking her questions

about God and she knew she needed to give her answers and be a better

example for her. Her boyfriend is a less-active member as well as her

mom. They are both returning to church now because of her and her

boyfriend and her read the scriptures every night together.

When first meeting with Addy, we asked her how she felt and she said

that she felt so at home. She said she is usually a very skeptical

person when it comes to churches but she couldn’t deny what she felt.

She had tons of doubts at first and didn’t see how she could change to

follow so many “standards and rules”.

We promised her that she would gain that desire and be able to follow

Christ as she read, prayed and acted on the message we shared. She

did. And now she has been living the Word of Wisdom for almost 2

months. She gave up habits that she has had her whole life. She has a

light and a confidence about her that wasn’t there before.

Then there is Sarah! (Sarah and Addy aren’t related or anything by the

way) I know mom wanted clarification on that. Sarah was taught a

couple lessons by missionaries a few years back. When I got into the

area we felt the need to call her, she was in a list of former people

taught.

She couldn’t meet just yet but we eventually started meeting with her

and her boyfriend Johnathon who was a member in the Spanish Ward. At

first she had about a billion questions about differences from her

church and ours. She loved coffee and could never ever see herself

giving it up. It was her “lifeline”.

As she acted on Christ’s message that was shared, she started to

change completely. She was given strength to live the Word of Wisdom

and give up coffee. She was always hesitant to read from the Book of

Mormon because her family opposes the church so much but as she

sincerely read and asked if it was true she found her answer so

clearly. She will be baptized by Johnathon this Saturday ahhhh.

As these 3 amazing people have allowed the Savior to come into their

lives, He has completely carried them through these changes they have

made. They have been able to give up substances, addictions or habits

that used to give them temporary pleasure and lead them to more

misery.

He has replaced this temporary satisfaction with light and lasting joy

and they have felt it. I know without a doubt in my heart that this is

the Savior’s message. I know this because when acted upon, it changes

our lives and allows us to know Him.

He heals us in every way. He carries us.

I testify that our Savior Jesus Christ is always knocking. It is just

our choice to open the door and allow Him in.

His gospel has been restored and that, to me, is more evidence that He

is still there, that He is still knocking.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is His church here on

the earth. He has given us all the means to make it back to him and to

find peace and happiness in this life.

Sarah, Addy and Ray will be able to make a promise with the Savior

this Christmas that will open the gateway to their eternal life. I

couldn’t imagine a greater gift to the Savior.

I read these scriptures in Alma 26 from the Book of Mormon this

morning and I think they describe pretty well how I am feeling.

“12 Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak;

therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for

in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles

we have wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name

forever.

15Yea, they were encircled about with everlasting darkness and

destruction; but behold, he has brought them into his everlasting

light, yea, into everlasting salvation; and they are encircled about

with the matchless bounty of his love; yea, and we have been

instruments in his hands of doing this great and marvelous work.

16 Therefore, let us glory, yea, we will glory in the Lord; yea, we

will rejoice, for our joy is full; yea, we will praise our God

forever. Behold, who can glory too much in the Lord? Yea, who can say

too much of his great power, and of his mercy, and of his

long-suffering towards the children of men? Behold, I say unto you, I

cannot say the smallest part which I feel.”

I really cannot say the smallest part which I feel. I love my mission.

I love you family and I’m excited to see you Sunday oh my goodness

time is flying.

Merry Christmas, remember Whose season this is and make it about Him!

Every day allow others to feel His love through you.

Pictured below (there’s a ton this week)

We can give Angie rides to her new member lessons because she’s a member now

WOO

The Covarrubias family got a new puppy and came caroling with us I love

them.

Ice cream of course

We were able to pick out a bunch of toys and stick them in bags for

families for Christmas I gave my families the best toys they won’t

know what’s comin

We went to city hall and everywhere else in the land EVEN DI rejected

our idea to have a #LighttheWorld stand but we talked to the right

people and the DI let us come #success

(But city hall was closed THE ONE DAY WE WENT to ask them where they

allow missionaries to light the world, ya know the usual)

The #LighttheWorld stand we made for people to post love to their mom

best thing ever

The Johnsons gave us a heater because ours is broken so this is us in

the mornings now

Leave a Reply

