It is Better to Look Up 8/29/2016

I am finally getting to replying to everyone so I have no time today. But I love you all. It’s the best I can feel so much love from all of you on my birthday even though I’m not there with you so thank you thank you thank you. 

This week has been great. Pretty sure my emails always start out that way but it really has been. 

Two General Authorities, Elders Cook and Miskin, came and gave the leaders a training this last Saturday. So good. They talked about how a good leader always “looks up” towards our Heavenly Father. Elder Cook told his experience that he shared in General Conference from his talk “It is Better to Look Up”.

I want to quote what he said in the talk because I can’t explain it any better:

“At the end of a particularly tiring day toward the end of my first week as a General Authority, my briefcase was overloaded and my mind was preoccupied with the question “How can I possibly do this?” I left the office of the Seventy and entered the elevator of the Church Administration Building. As the elevator descended, my head was down and I stared blankly at the floor.

The door opened and someone entered, but I didn’t look up. As the door closed, I heard someone ask, “What are you looking at down there?” I recognized that voice—it was President Thomas S. Monson.

I quickly looked up and responded, “Oh, nothing.” (I’m sure that clever response inspired confidence in my abilities!)

But he had seen my subdued countenance and my heavy briefcase. He smiled and lovingly suggested, while pointing heavenward, “It is better to look up!” As we traveled down one more level, he cheerfully explained that he was on his way to the temple. When he bid me farewell, his parting glance spoke again to my heart, “Now, remember, it is better to look up.”

It was so powerful to hear him tell this to us, but with tears in his eyes as he started to explain who was in the elevator with him. That part hit me the most, you can tell he knows that Thomas S. Monson is a prophet of God and each and every missionary in that room listening to him could feel that too. 

This week we decided to go to a less-active members home and as we sit down and visit with their family the mom starts smiling to herself. I asked her why she was smiling and she started laughing, “It is just so funny because I prayed this morning to know if I should go back to church and then you two show up!”

I love moments like that. I love seeing that He really knows His children so well and knows where to send us.

Not only that but yesterday I felt the strong impression to visit this active members home. Wasn’t sure how to approach, so we asked for water. We got talking with the mom and she ended up telling us it was her daughter’s 14th birthday who passed away about 10 years ago. It was at that point where we were able to tell her we really just felt impressed to come over and didn’t even need water. We prayed with their family and it just was so powerful for all of us to see that He is so aware of the,  

I have no time but I love you all. He loves us and He is aware of us. 

Have a great week, thank you for the birthday love. 

Leave a Reply

