Who is this Girl?

2/29/2016

Family!

I think I forgot to mention we had a baptism yesterday! Katelyn, the cutest 14 year old, part of a part-member family got baptized. We kind of just walked into the area just in time to get her interview, get to know her and then plan the baptism. So many people came it was great, she was so happy. I’ll have to send you the picture when I get it, but they have been taught for a couple years so it was us and a ton of elders that came to see. Her older sister Alaina (16) isn’t baptized yet so we are going to be teaching her, we have become super close too she’s awesome so I’m excited.

Speaking of baptisms, remember Bill from Palm Springs?!! Apparently he got baptized last transfer! Best news ever. Yes I wish I could have gone but I’m so happy for him!

So this week has been amazing. 5 investigators at church. Renee and Zenah came for the first time! Renee hasn’t been to a different church in 15 years so this is huge. And Zenah is just LOVING the lessons.

We taught Zenah the Plan of Salvation reading from 2 Nephi 2 and she was all, “This is amazing. It’s one thing to say that the bible and Book of Mormon go hand in hand, but another thing to say that the Book of Mormon can actually clarify things from the bible!” She said that is what she has always believed, that the Fall of Adam and Eve was part of God’s plan. She is over here teaching us our lesson saying “God has a plan and purpose for us here! We are here to progress and grow to become like Him because He is our Father and He wants to live with us again and to receive all that He has. It makes sense! We aren’t just here by accident!”

YES ZENAH YES. I have had so much fun teaching her.

In our lesson with Renee it was the coolest thing to see the Spirit working with her. Socially, it has been the hardest thing for her to think about even visiting another church. But towards the end of the lesson she goes, “Something is telling me that it’s okay to go to your church.” She explained how she really doesn’t think we are here for her by coincidence. At that moment I just felt so grateful for the Spirit that was prompting her and helping her feel that way.

Not sure the whole week is kind of a blur but we had a zone conference with President and Sister Van Cott, I LOVE THEM SO MUCH. And this week we are going to the temple. I am so excited.

You don’t realize how much you love the temple until you can’t go for 6 months.

Also, shoutout to Clark and Kendall for the GPS. It has saved our souls in this new area.

ALSO last night after cleaning things up from the baptism, we went to visit a new referral from the Temple Square Visitors Center! Most normal family ever, totally interested. This week is bad timing because of their daughter’s bridal shower but the dad said they would love for us to come next week!

I like to think that my girl Roxy Rodriguez over there in Temple Square hooked us up! Shoutout to Sister Rodriguez.

The work here is going so good I really don’t know why. I think a lot of it has to do with the members. They’re super involved it’s great.

But the mission is a roller coaster so you never know! I have had the happiest times out here but boy I have seen my weaknesses. It’s cool though because that is how we can know we are coming closer to Christ ourselves.

Ether 12:27 “And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.”

So yes I see just enough of my weaknesses to handle sometimes, but looking back, He really has made my weaknesses become strengths. I used to be scared of teaching and impatient and everything. Now, I’m not perfect at those things but I have seen how He has helped me with them.

Have a great week, keep loving people and talking with them about what you know to be true. We have nothing to be ashamed of, the gospel is by far the best thing ever.

Leave a Reply

