pre-baptism opposition my friends 3/21/2016

My whole email is going to be focused on one experience so I hope that’s

okay.

Zenah was set for baptism March 26. It seemed too good to be true as I

was saying in my last email. She loves and accepts everything and is

SO PREPARED I thought it can’t be that easy!

And then Friday (the day of her interview) she calls

“Hi Zenah how are you?”

“I’m going to have to cancel the baptism. I can’t go through with it

because…”

My heart just dropped.

She then explained how she has been receiving tons of opposition from

her family because of her baptism all of a sudden and that she loves

the truths we have taught but she just isn’t meant to be a Mormon

because of her family situation but maybe one day she will be but

there is no way she can go through with it at least for a few years

until things settle down.

At first I felt tons of frustration at satan. It is always the week

before the baptism when he tries his hardest and the one thing that he

could use on Zenah was her family. I just was upset. On the phone we

told her a lot of things but we wanted her to recognize this

opposition was there for a reason. We also told her how this is

between her and Heavenly Father and asked if she would pray about it,

because that’s what matters. We asked if we could still come today to

talk with her and she said she needed some time and that her family

was making things really tense.

We ended the phone call and just sat there for a second. I kept thinking

nooo.

We fasted for her on Saturday and I studied for her all that morning

because we planned on stopping by and talking with her.

The invitation of the Savior kept coming to mind “Follow Me.”

I looked up scriptures with those words in them.

A few that really hit me for her were:

12 And also, the voice of the Son came unto me, saying: He that is

baptized in my name, to him will the Father give the Holy Ghost, like

unto me; wherefore, follow me, and do the things which ye have seen me

do. (2 Nephi 31)

20 And they straightway left their nets, and followed him. (Matthew 4)

27 ¶Then answered Peter and said unto him, Behold, we have forsaken

all, and followed thee; what shall we have therefore?…

29 And every one that hath forsaken houses, or brethren, or sisters,

or father, or mother, or wife, or children, or lands, for my name’s

sake, shall receive an hundredfold, and shall inherit everlasting

life. (Matthew 19)

The word follow takes trust. We need to trust the person asking us to

follow them and trust that they are taking us somewhere better than

what we are leaving behind. As we strive to follow the Savior it takes

leaving something behind and trusting that He has something better in

store.

As we sat down with Zenah she explained where she was coming from and

that baptism is just impossible with this situation.

Different than my plans, I felt the need to have her read 1 Nephi 3:7

After reading it she said “wow”. Then after a long pause she said

something like “baptism is a commandment of God and yes I have been

baptized but not by the proper authority of God… Hmm…”

I thought what.. How did she get that from that scripture? I was just

in awe at what the Spirit was teaching her. It was from that point on

in the lesson that I realized just how much Heavenly Father wants this

for her and how this is not me that will be teaching this lesson.

After that realization she went back into how she can’t possibly cause

contention between her family and how they are her support system

financially as well.

I said look at the end of that scripture we just read, “for I know

that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he

shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which

he commandeth them.”

She really took a second glance at this point and another “wow” came

from her. We promised He would provide a way for her.

We continued to show her more scriptures, the ones that we had found

in our studies and her mind was enlightened. She really started to see

the importance of all of this and how if she puts her trust in Him, He

will provide. It was by far the most incredible lesson I have ever

had, towards the end you could really tell that she knew what needed

to be done. She said she would really pray about it but there’s no way

she can go through with the baptism any time soon.

On Sunday she came to church. I was somewhat surprised but it was the

best surprise ever. We explained to Bishop the situation and he said

he would love to talk with her and see how he can help her. So after

church she met with bishop.

We waited for her outside and once she came out we hugged her and she

said the best sentence I have ever heard

“I want to go through with my baptism.”

She explained how Bishop said some of the exact things we said

yesterday to her. She explained how she felt so at peace as he

promised her that it would all work out if she does what Heavenly

Father asks of her.

We were speechless.

She later explained how yesterday when we were talking with her she

was wondering why we would care so much or be so concerned for her if

she didn’t get baptized. Then apparently right after that thought came

into her mind I said “I care this much about this because I know how

much your Father in Heaven wants this for you. I can feel it”

She said that stuck with her.

I just felt overwhelmingly grateful for the Spirit at this point

knowing that I had no idea what her thoughts were.

It was just incredible really. I have never seen the Lord’s hand so

much. I think this experience was more for me than Zenah. I have come

to see and feel in the most real sense that Heavenly Father is there

and that He wants nothing more than to have His children live with Him

again. I have felt it with Zenah and I have felt it within myself as

He has let me see His hand through miracles like this. I felt so upset

about things and I realized I need to trust in Him just as much as I

am counseling Zenah to. Trust that everything will work out as I turn

to Him. And it did it all worked out!

We are now replanning her baptism for April 1st or 2nd so we have time

to get people there.

I love this whole mission thing.

I don’t remember what they look like, but I know more than anything

else that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ live. They love us each

more than we can comprehend. I love Them and miss Them and am grateful

I have the opportunity to show my gratitude for Them through the way I

live each day.

Leave a Reply

