Members make the best missionaries k 5/31/16

Well it’s been a great week here in Redlands.

I can only remember half of what happened so here is 1/2:

Yesterday we gave talks on missionary work. It was the greatest

opportunity ever to get the Ward excited. It really helped too, the

members seemed to really like the things we said. I included ways that

members have been involved in the conversion process of those we are

teaching/that have been baptized and BOY members play a major role in

everyone’s conversion. I will have to send those to you all sometime.

This Ward is the greatest, we thought it would be good to have a Ward

fast for us and the members to be led to the people who are ready for

the gospel. We have an idea and they run with it! Bishop announced it

a good 3 times throughout church yesterday so I’m so excited for next

Sunday.

Oh yeah and one day I thought about having a Father’s Day Barbecue

that everyone can invite their friends to! We told our Ward mission

leader and now the Bishop is all for it! I’m pumped.

So this week we have been really trying to work with the members. It

has been the best thing ever. We have been praying to know what

members we need to make an effort to visit and help with missionary

work. It was crazy how clear certain names came to my mind of who we

needed to visit.

Let’s begin with the Dyers. We go to the Dyers (a cute older couple)

who just got called to be missionaries for ldsjobs and we let them

know we have prayed and their name has come to mind. Brother Dyer

wasn’t home so we prayed with Sister Dyer and had her make a list of

non-members who came to mind. We went over her list then asked her to

pray to know which person she needs to focus on, which person is

prepared for the gospel.

During the prayer, the name “Dory” that she said kept repeating in my

mind. We took a second after the prayer and she says “Well, one is

sticking out to me alright. Dory.”

Sister Gull then goes “That name stuck out to me too!”

Then I was like waaaaittt are you kidding me too.

It was really incredible and powerful to see the Spirit guiding us to

help Dory. We brainstormed some ways Sister Dyer can reach out to her

and now she’s inviting her to dinner with us Wednesday and wants to

ask her to take the lessons that day as well!

Who knows if she’s in our area BUT WHO CARES. We are helping the

members bring the gospel to their friends and there was something so

enlightening about it.

Then THE BUNKERS. Cutest, cutest little family with two girls and two

boys. They are super missionary minded as well. We went over their

names and Brother Bunker mentioned his names and how he had been

talking to them about the gospel already! Then they prayed and

pondered on the names they had written.

After they had some time to listen, Brother Bunker said, kind of

astounded, “This is so interesting. A name keeps coming to mind that

not even on this list. I don’t even think I have said hi to her at

work.”

Their family was kind of amazed as well as us. Heavenly Father knows

His children that need us, we just need to listen.

The Bunkers are now having a family home evening with the different

families and friends that came to mind and Brother Bunker is going to

try to introduce himself to this woman at work and tie in the gospel

as much as he is allowed to.

Something about meeting with these members, I feel so good afterwards.

We also met with these former investigators from previous elders named

Beth and John. They were super friendly and let us right in! We got to

talking and they said they respected our beliefs but didn’t really

agree with them.

John said He believed in Christ but its hard for him to believe that

Christ came to the Americas if we don’t know the exact location he was

standing at. I was tempted to go off about how we know pretty close to

where He could have appeared to the people etc…. But I kept feeling

the need to read 3 verses from 3 Nephi 11.

So I said “I see, can I share with you both two of my favorite scriptures?”

They said “certainly!”

I read the following, explaining that this is what Christ said to the

people in the America’s:

13 And it came to pass that the Lord spake unto them saying:

14 Arise and come forth unto me, that ye may thrust your hands into my

side, and also that ye may feel the prints of the nails in my hands

and in my feet, that ye may know that I am the God of Israel, and the

God of the whole earth, and have been slain for the sins of the world.

15 And it came to pass that the multitude went forth, and thrust their

hands into his side, and did feel the prints of the nails in his hands

and in his feet; and this they did do, going forth one by one until

they had all gone forth, and did see with their eyes and did feel with

their hands, and did know of a surety and did bear record, that it was

he, of whom it was written by the prophets, that should come.

As I read these words the air just seemed to be still. The spirit was

there. We then testified of Jesus Christ and how this other testament

of Him is another witness of Christ and what He has done for us each

personally.

I said, “He showed them each what He had done for them one by one. Can

you imagine?” They seemed to be amazed at these scriptures. Something

changed in them. It was really cool. Their beliefs didn’t change in

the blink of an eye or anything, but those verses seemed to spark

their interest. The Book of Mormon is powerful, and maybe just maybe

they will read it for themselves soon.

Then, better yet… Sister Gull talked a lot more than usual while

visiting with them it was the best thing ever. Then afterwards she

said “I DON’T THINK I HAVE EVER FELT SO GOOD.” She explained how she

wished she felt this way alllll the time and I was so happy for her I

was like “This is why I have been the annoying follow-up trainer who

makes us role play and asks if you will lead conversations etc.,

because if you aren’t a part of the work then it’s no fun!”

She really sees the joy of missionary work now. It’s a happy day.

Oh one other thing,

Yesterday at church a man in the Ward introduced himself to Ann and

our Ward mission leader goes “This is Ann, she’s investigating the

church!”

Then Ann goes “Oh no I’m not investigating anymore. I know it’s true.”

She’s so cute. She says she is baptized in her heart. She wants her

son’s approval before she goes through with it so keep them in your

prayers.

Things are happening. I’m pumped. Tonight we are giving our first

temple tours finally!

Then Tuesday is our last zone conference with President and Sister Van

Cott. I can’t believe it.

I love you guys have a great week.

Ps hello dadimage1-15

Leave a Reply

