Week 1

Taryn's Companion

tarynmomdad tarynnametag tarynselfie

First off, for those of you who have emailed me or sent letters or packages, THANK YOU. You don’t know how happy that makes me! Also, what’s going on over there at home? I’m so out of the loop I guess. But where to begin wow. Seriously I think I have learned more this past week than in my whole life. So let’s start from the beginning. The day I got here, even though saying bye to you guys was um the hardest thing, I was so at peace and so excited as soon as I entered this place. My companion? She is a literal angel so that’s cool. Sister Marler. It’s funny because we get along so well but we decided we probably would’ve never hungout like in real life before this since we’ve had such different lives. So it’s cool that none of that matters over here! Also, I am so impressed, I have not yet had a breakdown/crying session since I’ve been here and I’m not planning on it. Upset stomach from some of the food here though? Yes maybe but that’s okay. My teachers are amazing. Seriously, I just want everyone to meet them, just listening to them it’s like yeah this church is true I don’t even know how to explain it but it’s awesome. So basically since I have been here I at first felt super inadequate. I saw the name tag and that it was on ME and I thought how can I be a missionary I don’t know everything etc. but that has all flipped around recently. I still don’t know everything and I am not a perfect missionary but it’s so cool because I don’t need to be. I just need to try my best to be a vessel for the Spirit basically because The Holy Ghost is the real teacher and it’s pointless to teach without Him. I knew this but I hadn’t really grasped this until yesterday. Yesterday our teacher had us write out/plan our prayers before we say them. We then went to a quiet place to say our prayers and afterwards I opened up to the scriptures and man, Heavenly Father listens to us. I told Heavenly Father that I want to let The Spirit completely take over in my lessons and I was frustrated that wasn’t happening yet. Open up to around Alma 37 and see many times when it says to trust in The Lord and then by small and simple means the Lord accomplishes His work and it just hit me like TARYN. Calm down. Let the atonement take over for your inadequacy, put your confidence in the Lord not you and realize you aren’t going to be the best missionary possible day 5 of the MTC. So my perfectionist side is finally getting under some control. And yesterday we fasted before we met our TRC investigator. JUST WOW. The power of a fast. We wanted so badly for The Spirit to touch her, and it did. She really is a real investigator don’t ask how I know that but she is. And it was the best experience. We were able to connect with her so well and The Spirit was so strong. I think because we had faith that The Spirit would be there and wow was it ever. I can’t even explain the feeling I had afterwards like LET ME TALK WITH YOU FOREVER PLEASE. It was such a real experience too since she was a real investigator I think it helped me to be more real than compared to when our teachers were the “investigators”. This is way too long, just know that I love it here. Yes, it can be hard and the days can be long. The classroom isn’t my favorite setting but I have seen so many tender mercies. Sister Marler let’s us study by the sunsets outside sometimes cause she knows my love for sunsets so #blessed. I know this is where the Lord needs me right now. This is His time, not mine. I gave up these 18 months for Him. And I am so glad I did. I think in that lesson I finally completely forgot about myself and that’s why I felt so amazing afterwards. Can’t wait for Redlands. This work is so important, Christ is at the head of this church I can promise you that. I love you all! Have an amazing week okay? Okay.
Leave a Reply

